Cranberry Christmas cake…

7937d8cd6969590fbbd121c731ed78cb

Theirs….

cranxmascake

Mine… (pictured without glaze)

I LUV potluck suppers! You never know what you are going to get at a potluck party; it’s like Russian roulette buffet style! Someone always brings pasta with sauce… Blah and boring. But then ole Mrs. So-and-so whips out a blueberry buckle or Depression era corn chowder that makes you eyes cross and your head spin! And that is what I love! Forget your pasta and sauce or your sweet & sour kielbasa- I want authentic, tried and true, forgotten favorites! I want something simple yet delicious. Extraordinary but economical. Impress me with your ingenuity 🙂

I always try to please at a potluck and I never repeat a dish, unless specifically asked to, despite its popularity. And this time was no different. Our church hosted the ecumenical Christmas carol service this year with fellowship afterwards. Community, Christmas carols and a potluck? 8-D Be still my heart! This year it was decided that it would be coffee and desserts, no supper items. Challenge accepted. Break out the big guns!

My entry was Cranberry Christmas Cake. The poor, humble cranberry has been pigeonholed as juice and a congealed afterthought at Thanksgiving. I loved the idea of making it the shining star of this dish! I did alter the recipe slightly so I could keep my “Clean artery club” card and added a glaze to create more of a flavor dynamic behind cranberry. Without further ado…

Cranberry Christmas Cake- 3 eggs, 2 cups sugar, 3/4 cup soft butter (I used coconut oil), 1 tsp vanilla (I used one heavy glug), 2 cups flour, 12 oz fresh cranberries. Beat the Dickens out of the eggs and sugar! This is crucial because the eggs act as the leaving agent here. The mix should double in size and ribbon when you lift the beaters. It will take at least 5 mins. Add the fat and vanilla. Mix. Add the flour and stir just enough to combine. Cranberries in and combine again. Don’t over mix after you add the flour or the cake will get tough. 9×13 pan. Bake 350° for 40-50 mins. I would recommend closer to 50 mins if you’re adding the glaze. It needs to be a tiny bit harder cooked because the glaze adds a ton of ooey gooey moisture and you don’t want soggy cake. If you like soggy cake by all means pull it at 40 mins and glaze away!

Glaze- powdered sugar, water, one drop of YL orange oil, one drop of YL cinnamon bark oil. The glaze was not in the original recipe but I thought it could use some beautification. I knew cranberry, orange and cinnamon would knock some socks off so I went for it and hit the jackpot. If you want to order these oils let me know in the comments. Better yet, sign up as a member and order them whenever you want with the 24% discount!

The cake was a huge success! My dish was empty and several of the old Betty’s commented on how much they loved it and wanted to know who made it! AND our pastor asked me for the recipe! Her vote counts for more because she is a shepherd for the Lord therefore if she liked it, He liked it, and I’m going to heaven. Snaps for a Cheryl!! Lol

Try it for yourself and let me know what you think!

About Cheryl

Twenty something SAHM to two beautiful babies!
This entry was posted in YL Oils, Yummy!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cranberry Christmas cake…

  1. S says:

    You are a whack job! 😉
    The cake sounds great! I’ll give it a go!
    ♡♡

    Like

  2. Pingback: Potluck vote… | LifeInGrams

Leave a Reply

