The “Pouch Approach”…

I love to organize! I know I’m weird 🙂 My closest friends and family know about my love of all things organization related so I thought I would share it with you too. This could very easily become a series! Haha!

One of my favorite organization tools I like to call the “Pouch Approach.” The way this method works is items with commonality or purpose are grouped together. This is an ideal solution for most purses, diaper bags, etcetera. I prefer to use soft sided pouches like drawstring bags and zipper coin purses because they can settle into a bag better than hard containers. My example: my diaper bag!

diaperbag

While this gorgeous Skip Hop model (a shower gift from my college bff) has enough pockets to make your head spin in delight I felt it still needed some help. Pockets and compartments are useless if there’s no rhyme or reason to them! So here’s my system:

photo 1-6 photo 2-6

The two side pockets are for toys and sometimes a bottle of water. The two front outer pockets are my mommy pockets. This is where I put my hair ties, lip gloss, pens and so on. The two large back pockets are intended for a diaper pad and diapers but I found it more useful to store my clutch and coupons envelope here. My clutch contains my wallet, keys, and sunglasses. I like it here because I never have to dig in the main compartment for it, it hugs my body to deter pickpockets, and if I go somewhere without the kids I can just grab my clutch knowing my essentials are all there. So then where are the diapers?

photo 2-4

Blurry pics… oh well!

photo 1-4

Contents…

Another college bff made me this super cute drawstring bag for Tau’s baby shower and it is perfect for all our butt wiping needs! Inside it has diapers for Zeta, pull ups for Tau, wipes and butt paste. I don’t use a diaper pad because I think they are too bulky and my kids are too long for them anyway. At diaper stations I just use a wipe to clean off the table. I love having a diaper kit because I can refill it easily and grab it quickly knowing everything I need is inside.

My last pouch is the medical bag (I forgot a pic). It contains bandages, thieves oil, lavender oil, gripe water, sunblock, yadda yadda yadda. Thankfully I almost never need this one. Maybe twice in 2014. I keep it all in a black drawstring bag that my Moby wrap came in – I told you I love drawstring bags!

My clutch...

My clutch…

The main compartment of the bag is lined with several more pockets: one large zipper pocket, two half ones and a bottle pocket on each end. The bottle pockets usually have water bottles in them. The large zipper pocket is for our emergency snacks (apple juice, fruit leather, raisins). The half pockets hold random stuff that gets tossed in and needs to be sorted later. Under all these pouches is an extra outfit for Zeta should he have a diaper blowout. Don’t act like you don’t know what a blowout is! Lol A place for everything and everything in its place! As a side note I don’t use the “shuttle clips” feature on my diaper bag. I’m not sure why, I guess I just prefer to keep it in the basket underneath my stroller.

Snacks :-D

Snacks 😀

 

Do you organize your bag? How?

About Cheryl

Twenty something SAHM to two beautiful babies!
This entry was posted in Mommy stuff, Organized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The “Pouch Approach”…

  1. S says:

    You are going to set this up for me when my day comes right? !? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

