Kick ass gluten free waffles…

DSC_0217

Hers…

Mine :)

Mine 🙂

These are the best waffles I have ever had. EVER! I couldn’t tell they were gluten free because they were perfect! Crispy outside, fluffy inside, held up nicely to butter and syrup! Heaven for breakfast. I found the original recipe here and modified it to our needs.

Gluten free waffles: Makes about 10, depending on your waffle iron. Mine is this beauty.

6 eggs
1 cup coconut oil
1 cup almond milk- or water
3 heavy glugs of vanilla
6 tablespoons sugar- I used table sugar to keep the texture nice
2 1/4 cup all-purpose gluten free flour (I used King Arthur)
3/4 teaspoon xanthan gum (it improves the texture, but isn’t necessary)
1 1/2 tablespoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt

Heat the waffle iron as high as you can. Mix together the eggs, oil, milk, vanilla, and sugar. Stir together the flour, xanthan gum, baking powder, and salt. Stir into the wet ingredients until smooth. The batter is going to look weird. Kinda like wet moon sand that kids play with. Cook according to your waffle iron’s instructions.

We wil be making these again for sure! I had 2, Alpha had two, and even Tau scarfed two down! Anything healthy that a toddler eats is aces in my book! I think I may play with the recipe to make chocolate flavored ones, or cinnamon apple ones! I let the leftover waffles cool completely and froze them for later in the week. They reheated very nicely in the toaster a few days later. Next time I will make a triple batch and stock the freezer!


*****UPDATE!!!*****

I made these with vegetable oil (because I ran out of coconut oil) and the batter was more  like a traditional batter, not wet moon sand. They were both delicious though, so I think I will continue using coconut oil for the health benefits.

About Cheryl

Twenty something SAHM to two beautiful babies!
This entry was posted in Gluten free, Yummy! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

