Halloween… Yes or no?

I have always struggled with Halloween. On one hand I love celebrating with fun (wholesome) costumes {although some of my teenage costumes were in hindsight very inappropriate!}, who doesn’t love a little bit of candy, and it is celebrated at the pinnacle of my favorite season!

On the other hand I hate to be frightened, I have always been against celebrating or glorifying death and gore, and I don’t like the idea of people scaring the crap out of my kids with gruesome evil antics!

Now that we have kids I feel like I’m in a pickle. I want them to have a “normal” childhood but I don’t want to encourage celebrating evil and death. The other 364 days of they year we try to glorify goodness and light and Jesus to our kids. So what do we do? Let it slide because it’s just one night? Because everybody else does it? Is that the message we want  them to hear?

The interesting part is that I feel no guilt whatsoever about not doing Santa at Christmas. We decided celebrating the birth of Jesus is too important to let it be over shadowed by a pretend fat guy in a red suit. Maybe if All Saints Day was more exulted I wouldn’t care so much about giving up Halloween?

Thoughts?

About Cheryl

Twenty something SAHM to two beautiful babies!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

