Sick Days…

On Sunday Zeta and I had bogger factory noses so I braced myself for the inevitable. Monday we both woke up with sore throats, stuffy noses, a little coughing, textbook cold symptoms. Today, we are a bit better and now Tau is where we were yesterday. In case you’re in our boat I thought I would share what our sick days look like.

A list of sick day necessities in our house:

YL essential oils! We apply symptomaticly but Thieves and lemon come out for every illness. This time we are also using RC in the diffuser and applying Breathe Again roll on for congestion. I always do thieves tea (tea, local raw honey, thieves, lemon) for sore throats.

Probiotics in the form of homemade water kefir and yogurt. Multivitamins also make the list.

Chicken noodle soup, preferably made with a batch of homemade bone broth and gluten free noodles.

Keto-sticks for Tau. Even if her blood sugar is great we still have to monitor ketone levels on sick days. If her ketones get too high it can cause kidney failure pretty quickly. Elevated ketones that we can’t flush out means a trip to the ER for iv fluids 😦

Detox baths are also on my sick day list. We do a hot bath with one cup of Epsom salt, lavender oil, and magnesium flakes. I don’t soap them up or wash hair in this bath, it’s just for soaking and relaxing. And splashing!

Paper plates/bowls and plastic cutlery. Normally I refuse to use hot food and plastics but I give in on sick days because I don’t have time or energy to do a sink full of dishes. It also spares hubby from having to do them when he gets home so everybody wins.

Screens. Specifically ABC Mouse and Netflix. I’m not proud but I use the tools I have at my disposal on sick days! We watch marathons of Little Einsteins, Justin Time, Signing Time, Barefoot Contessa, DD&Ds, and MvF! It’s one of the very few times I encourage them to lay around on the couch and relax.

What do sick days looks like in your house?

 

About Cheryl

Twenty something SAHM to two beautiful babies!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

